1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

changing careers- could use some help please!!!

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by KATS82md, Aug 3, 2006.

1. KATS82md

KATS82md New Member

Pre-Medical
    Hi,
    I guess I'll provide some background first. I am currently 23, almost 24. I graduated from a top- notch (but not ivy), name brand college with a 3.2GPA in the business school. I've been working for 2 years now at a prestigious global accounting firm... and I hate it. I have realized that my 10 year "pull" towards being a doctor is not just a silly joke, but something that I really do want to pursue. So, now that I have made the final decision that I actually do want to do this, I am a little lost and a lot nervous about what to do/where to begin. My thought is to apply for spring admission into a postbacc program at columbia, NYU, and a couple other New York schools. I havent taken any science courses to speak of bc I was in the business school. I was thinking that from now until then, however, I can take a couple classes on my own at a good state school near me so I can be better prepared for the post bacc program. Will those courses and grades be seen then in my GPA from undergrad?? I'm not sure how the whole GPA thing works. Any course you take anywhere will factor into your GPA? I was thinking I could work/volunteer in a health related field during this time too. Does this sound like a good plan? Is my GPA too low to begin with? Does starting a postbacc program in the spring semester put me at a disadvantage? How long would it take to complete the full program? I would expect that I could plan on entering med school in 2009- is this r