Clinical Psychology & Related Fields

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Neuro-Dr

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This Forum is for Neuropsychology/Forensic/Clinical Questions

I am a neuropsychologist that has been practicing for 8 years. My background is primarily pediatric and I work at an outpatient neurology/neurosurgery group. I am also an assistant professor of clinical psychology at a University and am boarded in neuropsychology. Please feel free to post questions in the general field of clinical psychology as well.

Members don't see this ad.

What is the typical path to this specialty? Where does the neuropsychologist "fit in" among neurologists and neurosurgeons (when do you get involved with patients)? Is this a growing field / discipline?

The traditional path is a degree from a clinical program with specialty training in neuropsychology. There are a little over 40 programs listed through Div 40 of the APA or you can compare the program to the guidelines set out at the Houston Conference (available on www.theabcn.com). An APA-internship and two year fellowship in neuropsychology. Others have done slightly different training models and there is some flexibility in this provided a strong background in neuroanatomy/neuropathology is gained. I work at two outpatient neurology/neurosurgery practices and get referrals from them and from fam docs/peds out of house. In medical cases we evaluate kids for attention/memory problems in epilepsy, cog deficits from TBI, and then anything from Autism to ADHD, Dyslexia.

What have been the benefits (in treating patients, in personal life, in career, etc.) of specializing in neuropsychiatry as opposed to just psychiatry or neurology?

My specialty is in neuropsychology, so I can't speak to that.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello,