CNA or EMT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coconutts

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am currently a first-year undergrad student with desires to go to medical school. I was wondering if becoming a CNA or EMT will be valuable in terms of 1. Personal experience and 2. Application strength? Please let me know if either of these designations are worth pursuing.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You don't need either.

Between the two, CNA will give you more skills. EMT is just package and go. I've seen too many EMS personnel with terrible training.

Do the EMS route if you want to do EMS because we all need EMS services but don't do it for medical school purposes.

Back to my first statement, you're better off investing your time into more studying and some shadowing as opposed to taking on a job.

While medical school admissions committee members value experiences with patients, exposure to a healthcare setting and involvement in the community, little to no resources state that hands on experience is required or even preferred (See 2015 AAMC survey below for reference).

All of these things can be achieved without an EMT or CNA certification through activities like volunteering in a hospital, hospice, or outpatient setting and/or working as a medical scribe. Shadowing is also a great way to get clinical experience and is essentially required for admission. The scope of the clinical skills of a physician is obviously far greater than those of an EMT/CNA, therefore the skills you learn in these positions will not aid significantly in medical school.