Co-parenting?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SexyDoctor

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not too sure how many people are in this situation, but I'm currently a sophomore at a community college, and once I do transfer to my local University, I will be commuting back and forth from home.

Now this is all fine and dandy, but since high school, I've played a huge roll in 'co-parenting' my brother and sister (One is a toddler and the other just started elementary school). My parents are too busy with work, and I normally end up babysitting, taking them to places, taking them to school and picking them up everyday, feeding them, tutoring them, disciplining them, bathing them, e.t.c Now that I've older, the responsibility has increased.

Parenting is a full time job, and as a student who is involved in extracurricular activities and attending school full time, co-parenting becomes difficult and time-consuming.

I'm not necessarily looking to put down 'co-parenting' down as an EC on my application, but it does take a significant amount of time out of my day to take care of them. I've had to turn down many classes in order to fit my schedule around their school time. There have been many times I've had to turn down extracurricular commitments because no one was home to babysit my siblings. I don't get paid, so this isn't a job.

How do I explain to the adcomms that instead of having my weeks filled with extra-curricular activities and A's and B's on my transcript, I'm busy being a 'mother' to my siblings?

Oh and I'm fully aware that there might be students out there going through the same thing as I am, and if it's not a huge determining factor, I'd understand that too. :thumbup:

Thank you SDN :)

Members don't see this ad.