This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheyla1413

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi guys, I'd appreciate any advice

I have a bachelors in Psychology currently doing a post-bacc to get all my pre-reqs done for MD schools. Currently I have a 4.0 GPA in both science and non-science courses. I am taking Orgo 2, physics 2, and cell bio this semester (spring). I volunteer at a hospital. I have no recommendation letters prepared, and have not started studying for the MCAT.

I was planning on taking it May 2017 so that I can apply for the (2018) cycle but I have so much to do in only a couple of month. I am so eager to start since I am 24 years old and feel like I am just getting older.

Should I wait for the next cycle (2019)? If so what should I do during that year?
Do not take the MCAT until you are scoring 510+ on your full length practice exams. I did a similar thing where I got a bachelors and then did a post-bacc to finish prereqs. I was accepted to start med school this fall, and I’ll be 28. My interviewers stressed that I am not “old” for a med student by any means, so don’t worry about that! Let me know if you have any questions!

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Do not that the MCAT until you are scoring 510+ on your full length practice exams. I did a similar thing where I got a bachelors and then did a post-bacc to finish prereqs. I was accepted to start med school this fall, and I’ll be 28. My interviewers stressed that I am not “old” for a med student by any means, so don’t worry about that! Let me know if you have any questions!

Thank you so much, and congrats on getting into med school

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)