Confused...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MrsMcDreamy

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I just need some advice on whether I should apply to medical school again this year, or wait and improve my app some more. I graduated last year with my BS in Biochemistry (3.72 GPA, BCPM is around the same). My MCAT score was a 29N. My extras were standard, I guess, ~2500 patient care as a nursing assistant in the SICU of a Level 1 trauma center, tutor, VP of two clubs and honor society, etc. I got three interviews and was rejected/waitlisted. I am now in an MPH-Epi program. I was planning on pursuing my MPH someday so I am not too upset about having to pursue my master's, but it is not a field that I want to belong exclusively to. I got a 3.4 my first semester, which is not great and I have not done anything else to speak of, like volunteer, etc. How much will that hurt me? I am doing a full time internship this summer at a county or the state health dept. and will continue doing internships until next May. How else can I improve my app? Should I retake the MCAT? Thanks in advance for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone,