Considering an MS in bioethics - before or after the MD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

topwoodsfan27

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently 24 and have just returned to school for my second to last semester of my organismal biology BS that I have been working on since the Fall of 2015, with two separate extended medical absences thrown in. I do have a 4.0 and know that I'm very fortunate to not have to worry so much about numerics, but have some other concerns about my potential. I happen to have a genetic connective tissue disorder and related chronic conditions and some of my doctors have suggested that medical school may not be the best option for my body. That said, I am not deterred and do think that I am in a position (after all of my previous surgeries and treatments) that should allow me to keep going. School is without a doubt draining but is also something that I genuinely enjoy.

I did not decide to switch from pursuing veterinary -> human medicine until I was in my 20s and realized as a patient that I wanted to do more with my life to help those who are often underserved (with a particular interest in LGBTQ medicine). I haven't taken an official MCAT yet but my full-length practice scores are in the 508-514 range, and I do plan on dedicating a bit more time to get back to that level of preparation (or more) once I decide when to apply. I'm currently thinking of delaying my application until the Spring of 2023, though the idea of applying this upcoming cycle is hard to resist as I feel so far behind already and know I would be able to take the MCAT in the new year, a few months from now.