N

nap5035

I am starting my dental post-bacc at Penn State in the Spring 2011. I will be applying to dental school in Spring 2012, for the Fall 2013 class. Therefore, I have until ~May 2011 to change residency if I desire, so that I have lived there for 1 year when I apply to d school in June 2012. I am from New York, but have family in Texas. With 3 state schools with AMAZING tuition, and NY only having two state schools Buffalo and SUNY Stony Brook, (and their in-state tuition is absurd-look it up), I am really considering moving to Texas. However, if I got into schools like Temple/Maryland/UNC as a NY resident, I would go and become an in-state resident the following year. Question though...are most of the OOS students from these northeastern schools from the northeast? Or would a Texas applicant be limited to schools in Texas/Oklahoma/Louisiana?

Help a yankee out!

dentalWorks

Nights Watchmen
10+ Year Member
Jun 25, 2009
Sterling Hts, Mi
Status (Visible)
  1. Dentist
I am starting my dental post-bacc at Penn State in the Spring 2011. I will be applying to dental school in Spring 2012, for the Fall 2013 class. Therefore, I have until ~May 2011 to change residency if I desire, so that I have lived there for 1 year when I apply to d school in June 2012. I am from New York, but have family in Texas. With 3 state schools with AMAZING tuition, and NY only having two state schools Buffalo and SUNY Stony Brook, (and their in-state tuition is absurd-look it up), I am really considering moving to Texas. However, if I got into schools like Temple/Maryland/UNC as a NY resident, I would go and become an in-state resident the following year. Question though...are most of the OOS students from these northeastern schools from the northeast? Or would a Texas applicant be limited to schools in Texas/Oklahoma/Louisiana?

Help a yankee out!