Cornell vs UPenn

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dana_May_B

PennVet c/o 2025
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I feel so incredibly lucky that I get to choose between two absolutely amazing programs! I am a Pennsylvania resident, and while VIN says that Cornell would be around $50,000 cheaper, my whole family lives right outside of Philly so I could definitely commute my first two years and not have to pay for groceries or rent or housing expenses, making the two schools about the same cost. I am really interested in poultry medicine, and while I know that's limited at both schools, does anyone know which one would be better for poultry? I'm definitely leaning towards Cornell, but I've also been looking at the VMD-MBA dual degree at Penn which sounds like a great program for a food animal person like me. If anyone has insight into this program and how challenging it is to be accepted, please let me know! I'd love to hear more about any general pros or cons for both of these schools.

Members don't see this ad.

Unfortunately I can't help you with any of the academic details, but I think you should also consider how doable your commute time is when considered in with the rest of your schedule. I commuted 45 minutes one way to undergrad in east PA for one year of my education and I won't be putting myself through that again! I also am pretty sick of the suburbs and I can't even imagine trying to commute into the city every day, but that's just me, and you're probably used to it. Do you think you would be happier at an urban campus or a rural campus?