Counseling Psychology Phd Program and Commuting

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DyedinWhite

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to SDN so please bare with me, but I have a few questions regarding the intensity of Phd programs in Counseling Psychology and a seemingly unrelated, but related, question about commuting to grad school for that program.

I'll be graduating with a BS in Psychology fall of 2016 and I intend to go to graduate school for Counseling Psychology. There are only a couple of those particular grad programs in the city and unfortunately I live about 25 miles from the school I would like to go to (a 35 minute commute by car). Now this is normal for me as my current undergrad school is 21 miles away (1 hour 1 way via bus and 30 min via car) so the long commute doesn't necessarily bother me, but what I worry is that the intensity of a Phd program will require me to live closer. The uni I currently attend is in fact a "commuter college" so it's normal all across campus to live far from it, but with the graduate school I figured it's more intense and encouraged to live nearby.

The blessing is that a relative lives nearby the graduate school I want to attend (10 minutes away), but they live in a very very bad neighborhood (read: gunshots, robberies, auto theft etc) and being a very small girl I don't exactly feel comfortable living there- not to mention the fact that it's quite far from everything aside from the school. I'm talking 15 minutes from the grocery store and local post office.

Tl;dr: I love where I live now, but is a 35-40 min commute to grad school feasible? Moreover, is it feasible with the intensity of a Phd program in Counseling Psychology?

Around where I live there are also plenty of offices to intern at.

Members don't see this ad.

I posted this response to a similar question about a year ago and some of the info might be helpful...