courseload ideas when double majoring w/ a minor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Adonis4.0

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Whats up guys....

I need some advice, im a second year college student but classified as a junior. I am planning on getting a double major in pre-med bio and chem with a minor in eng. Currently i am enrolled in organic 1 w/ lab, a&p 1 w/ lab, cal 2, lit, poli sci 2 and a bio problems course....thats right 20 hrs. I really want to finsh my degree plans in 4 yrs...excluding summers because i will get an internship. So for the upcoming spring i was planning on taking 25 hrs...

Organic 2 w/ lab
instrumental chem w/ lab
lit
spanish
kinesiology
invertabrate zoology w/ lab (if offered, if not a&p 2 w/ lab)
Genetics

and then for the following fall i was planning on taking....

stats
biochem w/ lab
analytical chem
art apprec
amer. heritage
microbiology w/ lab
physics w/ lab
maybe a lit thrown in here...or i may push it back a sem.

Do you think this is adivsable...lol...i am not an overachiever...i have taken 17, 18, and now 20 hrs respectively and done well..i understand it is a lot of work...but i dont really see another way of doing it...

My friends tell me that 4 sciences is tough for one sem...but how hard can it be? And moreover, what would medical schools think if they saw these type of courseloads on my transcript?

I am open to any and all advice....thanx

Members don't see this ad.

I can tell you from experience that its definitely possible. Just remember, labs kill and are huge time sucks. Also, make sure that taking such a courseload doesnt detract from doing the ECs you care about and are committed to.

What the heck is pre-med bio and chem anyway? Do you just mean bio and chem?