CRNA. vs. years in post-bac to become DO doctor in Anesthesia?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CarpeDiem253

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have gotten into several Accelerated Nursing programs. I graduated from a UC with an undergraduate 2.34cgpa. It will take me several years as a post-bac, maybe an SPecial medical master's, and a killer MCAT to get into an oestheopathic medical school that does grade replacement.

I would be happy as a Nurse Anesthetist, but I'm am wondering how I am ever gonna have a strong enough stomach to wipe ass and sputum?! Does one EVER get use to foul odors?! This is one reason I do not want to be a bedside RN. Secondly, I am not being academically fulfilled taking pre-nursing classes. As they say, if you are the smartest person in the room, then you are in the wrong room.

I have always wanted to go to medical school for the adventure, for the learning of science, for the gross anatomy lab. I do believe the journey is the reward, but I am afraid of being 42, and making my first pay check.

Are there any doctors out there that wished they became a CRNA? Are there any CRNAs that wished they went to medical school instead?
CarpeDiem253, A moment agoEditReport

Members don't see this ad.

I have gotten into several Accelerated Nursing programs. I graduated from a UC with an undergraduate 2.34cgpa. It will take me several years as a post-bac, maybe an SPecial medical master's, and a killer MCAT to get into an oestheopathic medical school that does grade replacement.

I would be happy as a Nurse Anesthetist, but I'm am wondering how I am ever gonna have a strong enough stomach to wipe ass and sputum?! Does one EVER get use to foul odors?! This is one reason I do not want to be a bedside RN. Secondly, I am not being academically fulfilled taking pre-nursing classes. As they say, if you are the smartest person in the room, then you are in the wrong room.