Current PGY1 still desiring to do Psych. Didn't match this year or last into Psych. What should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2021acc117

Reaction score
Hi all, I am a current PGY1 IM resident. While I have a position currently, I still feel disappointed about not being able to be in a Psychiatry residency. I couldn't match this year or last year and I am wondering what should I do to get into a Psychiatry residency? I don't really have a passion for IM, while I am doing okay in residency.

Is it pretty much over in terms of doing psych or is there still hope for something? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I would keep an eye out on open PGY2 spots. There usually are some. I know some programs will keep an open spot to bring on a PGY2. When I had interviewed at UTHSCA years ago they did that.

Apply to pgy2 open spots. It's super common for people to transition in from medicine since most of pgy1 year in psych is basic Inpt psych, medicine and neuro reqs anyway. You'll likely even graduate on time

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Apply to pgy2 open spots. It's super common for people to transition in from medicine since most of pgy1 year in psych is basic Inpt psych, medicine and neuro reqs anyway. You'll likely even graduate on time
where can i find those

Hi all, I am a current PGY1 IM resident. While I have a position currently, I still feel disappointed about not being able to be in a Psychiatry residency. I couldn't match this year or last year and I am wondering what should I do to get into a Psychiatry residency? I don't really have a passion for IM, while I am doing okay in residency.

Is it pretty much over in terms of doing psych or is there still hope for something? Thanks.