DAT Complete: May 23, Full Breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mister Incisor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, i'm a long-time reader and I just completed my American DAT test today. Figured I'd give a full breakdown and the study methods I used as a way of giving back for all the help I've received through browsing the forums.

A little information first off, I'm a Canadian student with a 3.8 GPA. I completed my Canadian DAT back in November 2007 during second year, and had studied extensively for it (much of that summer). As such, I decided to only started studying after I finished my exams at the end of April (a month of prep time). I studied anywhere from 1-3 hours a day, depending on my work schedule. It is possible to prepare for it in a solid month, as long as you are efficient and have a solid background of your basics. However, another month may be beneficial if you really need to rack up some sick scores.

My method of studying for each science was:
(1) go through my entire university textbook for that subject as well as my notes in about 3-5 days
(2) go through all the questions in destroyer in about 2-3 days

For quantitative, I just practiced destroyer. For PAT, I just refreshed my skills using top score (I found that it was naturally my best portion on the Canadian DAT, so I didn't worry about it). For Reading Comp, I didn't do anything (I typically read a lot).

I then completed the three Top Score full lengthers during three days the week before my test date. For what it's worth, I did much better on the real thing than what I scored on TS.

Perceptual Ability 22