• Set Yourself Up For Success Webinar

October 6, 2021 at 2 PM Eastern/11 AM Pacific
    SDN and Osmosis are teaming up to help you get set up for success this school year! We'll be covering study tips, healthy habits, and meeting mentors.

Register Now!

• Site Updates Coming Soon

Site updates are coming next week on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

DAT score or GPA? Which one D.schools care about more?

Doa110

doa110
10+ Year Member
Jan 19, 2008
  1. Pre-Dental
I was wondering if some one knows, whether dental schools care more about the DAT score or GPA? I am a non-trad student. I have an average GPA (3.0)and have a Masters degree. I have five years of experience as a certified dental assistant, but this attempt will be my third time during the past seven years. Last time I took the DAT in 2005 and my scores didn't change a bit from the time before that. I only used Kaplan book and barron's. Now..If I do 20 and above in my DAT (hopefully) this time, would they consider me?:oops: I appreciate your feedbacks.

Upvote 0

doc3232

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 15, 2008
  1. Dental Student
I was wondering if some one knows, whether dental schools care more about the DAT score or GPA? I am a non-trad student. I have an average GPA (3.0)and have a Masters degree. I have five years of experience as a certified dental assistant, but this attempt will be my third time during the past seven years. Last time I took the DAT in 2005 and my scores didn't change a bit from the time before that. I only used Kaplan book and barron's. Now..If I do 20 and above in my DAT (hopefully) this time, would they consider me?:oops: I appreciate your feedbacks.

It depends on a lot, but I think you need to kill the DAT and yes it would definitely make up for a low gpa.

GOOD LUCK

Upvote 0

jay47

Think Positively!
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Aug 4, 2007
  1. Dentist
I think the trend nowaday is that DAT>GPA.