DAT score or GPA? Which one D.schools care about more?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doa110

doa110
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering if some one knows, whether dental schools care more about the DAT score or GPA? I am a non-trad student. I have an average GPA (3.0)and have a Masters degree. I have five years of experience as a certified dental assistant, but this attempt will be my third time during the past seven years. Last time I took the DAT in 2005 and my scores didn't change a bit from the time before that. I only used Kaplan book and barron's. Now..If I do 20 and above in my DAT (hopefully) this time, would they consider me?:oops: I appreciate your feedbacks.

Members don't see this ad.

I was wondering if some one knows, whether dental schools care more about the DAT score or GPA? I am a non-trad student. I have an average GPA (3.0)and have a Masters degree. I have five years of experience as a certified dental assistant, but this attempt will be my third time during the past seven years. Last time I took the DAT in 2005 and my scores didn't change a bit from the time before that. I only used Kaplan book and barron's. Now..If I do 20 and above in my DAT (hopefully) this time, would they consider me?:oops: I appreciate your feedbacks.

It depends on a lot, but I think you need to kill the DAT and yes it would definitely make up for a low gpa.

GOOD LUCK

I think the trend nowaday is that DAT>GPA.

I don't know, some schools seem to be a number game, but others seem to be more of an "all around applicant" type school. True, a phenomenal DAT score can make up for it, but course load, actual classes taken and relevance of those classes counts for a lot when applying. So if you were a business major and didn't take any sciences and had a 3.0, that would not be good.