Dating a Resident

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AnonTS

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am not a doctor but am dating a 1st year resident. We are three months into our relationship. Our first two months together were perfect, I really love spending time with this woman (let's call her PP) and want this relationship to work, but this past month has been hard. PP has had much less free time to put into our relationship, going from what used to be two dates a week to only two dates this last month. Also, we used to have amazing sex multiple times a night, to no sex at all in this third month. Finally, her general mood has changed for the worse: she used to be a lot of fun to be with but now she is cold, irritable and distant.

We spoke about her mood a week ago and she almost broke down in tears. She said how seeing her family over Xmas made her realize that she will grow detached from her loved ones as her career progresses. I sensed that PP feels lonely and desperately misses being with people that she has spent her lifetime building relationships with, which is unfortunately nurturing budding seeds of despair in her once cheerful personality.

I used to feel loved but now I feel rejected and ignored. I visited PP's home when she was at work a few days ago and noticed that her room was a mess: dirty laundry on the floor, a dirty plate and fork on her night stand, crusty food stains on her bed sheets. I cleaned her clothes and sheets, made her bed, washed her dish, vacuumed her carpet, and put fresh roses in her vase. PP gets home at 1am. I ask her how her shift went and am replied with a grunt. She quickly strips and gets into bed, turns her back to me. I kiss her on the head and say Goodnight, another grunt. It's been days and she hasn't noticed what I did, no text, no call, no thank you.