DDS or ADVANCED DENTAL PROGRAMME

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zain

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi everyone...
i was wondering if anyone of you could help me out with an advice.
I'm a dentist from India,i attempted my NDB last dec and scored only 78%:( ....so i attempted again this july and i'm still waiting for the scores,but frankly speaking this july i found it tough and don't have great hopes with the scores??!!....i'm really devastated and feel so helpless..
I was wondering if applying for advanced dental programme is a good idea since not all require NDB scores??
I feel i'm wasting a lot of time just attempting NDB,please advice what's best????and if you have any idea what prospects does one have after advanced dental programme??
Thanks.:confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Zain,

I am not sure if you heard of Minnesota opening up for foreign dentists. They require u to clear both part 1 and 2 NBDE and they wud have a practical exam, after clearing that u wud be allowed to practice in their state. If you are interested, then maybe u shud contact them and send in an ECE subject analysis, based on which they wud tell u if u are eligible for that.

and if u are interested in the teaching side, the other possibility wud be to do a masters in any of the non clinical subjects and get associated with any university fer teaching.

All the best
itsme

rajkang,

it isn't? i got the impression that gaining admissions to an advanced standing program was extremely hard (for foreign trained dentists). please respond...

take care.

Members don't see this ad :)
raj,

Thanks for the hand, but I was just wondering because I may be studying dentistry at the University of West Indies soon. Just trying to get a feel of how hard it is vying for a spot back into North America. Take care,

bus.

hi rajkang