Dealing with disrespectful NP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Iamnew2

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Wanted to get others' opinions on this.
I work as a med director in a rehab hospital. Overall things have gone very well since I started the position. We have a Medicine group that also covers, their old NP left and they hired a new NP. The new NP is very reluctant to be taught, despite not being very good, makes errors, and is kinda snippy. I understand that she is a hire and is paid by the Medicine group but at the end of the day, I am the medical director. She does this really stupid thing where she writes notes under a PM&R heading, and despite me telling her not to do so, she continues doing so, telling me that she has been told by the Medicine group, etc. that that's how it's supposed to be. This of course is beyond nonsensical as the Medicine group is supposed to do the Medicine part of things and I do the PM&R.

I spoke with the CEO and he's arranging a meeting with the other group. I am not sure how to go about this. This really frustrates me that she is so inappropriate.

It's also odd that the hospital has Medicine medical directors at other hospitals. In my understanding a rehab unit has to have a PM&R medical director in order to be in compliance.

Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

"In my understanding a rehab unit has to have a PM&R medical director in order to be in compliance."

Correct. Usually, a non PM&R medical director is hired when a facility has a hard time recruiting a physiatrist.

She sounds completely out of line to me.
The question is how much clout do you have?