Definitely don't stand a chance for DO school. Considering other career options....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedicalCareerGirl32

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am new to the Student Doctor Network Community. I went to undergrad 8 years ago back in 2006. I was supposed to graduate in 2004, but due to severe clinical depression I took a leave of absence and graduated in 2006. Currently, I am under the care of a psychiatrist and am taking antidepressants to help me with my depression. I have always wanted to be a doctor since I was in middle school. I remember when I was enrolled in the Summer Reading Program when I was in the fifth grade, I was very much interested in science books geared towards younger students in explaining the human body. I also have many Medical Encyclopedias and medical books in my house which I enjoy reading, but due to depression, have lost the motivation/desire to get into.

Anyway, let me cut to the chase. Since I was very clinically depressed in undergrad (sleeping all the time, missing classes, etc.), my science gpa is horrible. I graduated with a bachelor's degree in psychology with a 3.066 gpa (pretty horrible). My science gpa is below a 3.0. Here are the science classes I took and my grades (mostly Cs):

General Biology I: C
General Biology II: C+
General Chemistry I: C+
General Chemistry II: C
Calculus I: B+
Calculus II: B
Genetics: C
Human Physiology: C+
General Physics I: B
General Physics II: (Repeated) B+
Organic Chemistry I: (Repeated) D
Organic Chemistry II: Did not take it