Dental Hygienist to Dentist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dentalhygienist

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I looked around on the past threads trying to find some "recent" information or opinions, but I was unable to find anything current regarding a practicing hygienist deciding to return to school for dentistry.

I've been working in a wonderful family practice under a great DMD for the past 2 years since I graduated with and Associate of Science in DH (2 years pre-reqs, 2.5 years in the DH program at Indiana University Dental School) and he has asked me several times why I didn't go for dentistry in the first place. He believes my work ethic and understanding of dentistry as a business and background of dentistry is perfect for me to become a DDS. ( he will be retiring in about 10 years and jokes I should go back to school and try to get into dental and take over his practice, which I would LOVE to do.) I know my knowledge and background in the dental field will help me excel in the clinic and class aspect of dental school and I feel if I'm ever going to do this, this is my time at the age of 24. I also have experienced dentistry and KNOW it is what I want to do. BUT, I have fears, like most future dental students. Loan debt is a big one! Also, going back to school to finish the remaining science pre-reqs while working part-time. AND going through all this, applying and not getting accepted.
My questions are...Have any hygienist have done this after working a few years as a hygienist? And, how many more pre-reqs did you have to complete and were you able to still work as a hygienist during those courses?