dental student but doesn't like dentistry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lostinmyway

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I searched in google " i hate dentistry" which brought me here,
I'm 2nd yr going to 3rd year
i had to choose between medical and dental school </3
then chose dental based on many recommendations, people love money
i thought also about money, but i really had a passion of learning about human body
didn't know which i wanted more to put as a goal, money or passion
not saying that meds don't get rewards but the process is a bit slower
so the day came in which i got a high gpa that will take me anywhere i wanted
many people told me to go to dental school, so i thought i was wrong
i should listen to these people, so i was accepted in dental school
i really knew i hate it, but when i studied anatomy physiology biochem...etc
i stayed and continued the first year, still hating dental part there
we had courses in operative dentistry in which we worked on phantom heads
teachers liked my work many times
i see my friends struggling, but when i drilled i made a perfect T letter on tooth
still not finding my self here
i went to second year but i really wanted to change my speciality, but i am really reluctant
i don't know if i will one day regret changing dentistry
I love science, but in side me i want medical school,
now that iam done with 2nd year i think it's tooo late to change to medical school
i spoke with one og my professors, she recommend me to stay, and to make my passion
in what ever speciality or field an extra activity
she's helping me alot, I decided someday that i like to study genetics, she sent my
many webs in regard and she offered me to do a research to be publish
but still not seeing any meaning in dentistry
I have wasted alot of time i feel i am on edge, i don't know where to go
or what to do
many dentists like my work, but i don't care i hate this thing,