Depression in Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Yamster2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year medical student, and I've been dealing with depression for a number of years now, since early in high school. I'm definitely better compared to before, but still dealing with it. I only started seeing a therapist last year, although she had to move, and then I started seeing another one who has been a bit better. I actually started medical school last year but was performing poorly because I was having so many bad days and couldn't focus, so I took a leave of absence and rejoined this year. Last year I was performing well below average on exams, but this year fortunately I got close to the top score on the first theme and then somewhat above average on the second.

I'm feeling badly now because I know that I can be doing better than I am and getting more out of this year than I am. Not performing as well as I can obviously just makes me feel even worse than I already do. I just have some days when I don't want to get out of bed and then lose all that time, although I end up compensating for that later on with late nights, some cramming if necessary, etc. It's not that I want to switch fields or that what's making me depressed can really be resolved. I've dealt with a number of things in the past. One thing that gets me down a lot is feeling extremely lonely. My family and I basically don't speak to one another, my friends from undergrad have went off into different careers all over the place, and while I get along really well with all my classmates, I don't really interact with my classmates that much other than some small talk when I bump into them or occasionally going out.