Despair, Please Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

willy

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I applied to 13 schools, and interviewed at 5. I was waitlisted at one of those schools (NYMC) and rejected at the other four. As I see it, I will not be attending medical school next year, and it hurts. My credentials did not warrant this devastating turnout, since I graduated last year from Penn with a 3.54 BCPM, I was a 4-year varsity runner, and I recieved a 30R on the new MCAT (9V, 11P, 10B). I therefore attribute much of my misfortune to being a detectably arrogant prick. Regardless, I am having trouble figuring out what do do. This is a hellish puzzle, and I can't find a solution. Should I retake the MCAT? Where should I find work? Anybody who's done it please speak out. I am in dire need of help and I hope post-bacc-like programs aren't the only solution. They're too expensive. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

What schools did you apply to?
With those stats I thought you could have gotten in one school.

A 30 is great, your GPA is fine, I am a runner also at USP. I'm suprised that these schools didn't look favorably on you.

How did the interviews go.

Your stats sound fine I would work on work experience and community acitivities, also interview skills.

Maybe you have all of this. It's possible that each school saw something they didn't like.

Be confident that NYMC put you on the waitlist and that they will accept you

Have a great day
AK