Developing a Thick Skin

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hello SDN,

This is my first post -- please let me know if I'm doing this wrong.

I am a first-year undergraduate student. I want to become a doctor because I genuinely want to help people and make a difference. I am also fascinated by science and the scientific method. My biggest weakness is that, as of now, I feel like I am a bit too sensitive to criticism and rejections. I also struggle with writing convincingly -- part of it could be because I have a little self-esteem issue. My parents are immigrants and I went to schools in a couple different countries. I had to overcome language barriers multiple times, and I had developed the habit of doubting whatever I say or write.

I know that med-schools break students, and that doctors are self-confident people. My question is, is there a way to overcome my weaknesses? I know that I can only find the strength from within myself, but it is very difficult to fake confidence. Are there things that I should pay attention to, or things I should do, to become more mentally tough?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Go find a therapist you really like and work with them long term. You don't have to have a mental health diagnosis to have a counselor. I promise it will help a lot.

Reactions: 6 users
Hello SDN,

This is my first post -- please let me know if I'm doing this wrong.