Difference between PA and NP???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

williestyle81

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All! I'm new to this whole thing.

I'd like to know what is the real difference between a PA and an NP? Is the amount of schooling the same? What about salary?:)
Thanx

Members don't see this ad.

there was a thread about this a few months ago but I will give you a quick summary:
NP's start as nurses with a bs degree and attend 2 more years of school to get an ms degree. most of the time is classroom with 400-700 hrs on average of clinical time. np's have an independent license and can open up their own practice. most work in primary care.