DIY Post-Bacc Strategy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BurgersnAcquisitions

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! I've been out of college for about 5 years and am looking for advice about the biggest red flag on my application- my undergraduate science GPA of 2.97. My current plan is to take some science courses at a nearby university. The hope is that a solid performance in those classes, along with my MCAT score (521 - more info below), would show med schools that I am a different student than I was 5 years ago.

Would taking a few credits at a time while continuing to work full-time even help my application? I know MD programs like to see that you can take on a full course load and I'm worried that a handful of As would not really do much.

Doing a full-time post-bacc or SMP would be tough financially, so I'm trying to figure out how to do this while keeping my current job.

Thanks in advance!

Here's some more background information about me:
  • Hoping to apply next summer (2018)
  • Demographics: Not URM, female, 27, DC area
  • Degrees: BS double-majored in social sciences (cGPA 3.55, sGPA 2.97), MPH -Both from well-known schools
  • MCAT: 521 (129/132/130/130) - March 2017
  • ECs: Volunteered at university hospital for 4 years, global health student group with leadership position
  • Work experience: 2+ years working in health policy research, several public health internships, biopsych lab for ~6 months
  • Shadowing: Ahh yes this I will need to work on as well, but aiming for 50-60 hours of shadowing this year

Members don't see this ad.