DIY Post Bacc Update

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

foreverlearner02

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I graduated a year ago and would like to get your thoughts on how what I've been doing since.

- Fall 2017: Worked 35 hrs/wk as a medical assistant and took BIO II (online but exams were in person), got a 3.6, volunteered at senior home where I taught tech classes
- Spring 2018: no classes, traveled, reflected..needed a break before taking more classes honestly, started volunteering at free health clinic, continued tech classes, got some physician shadowing hours
- Summer 2018:
Ochem I - 4.0
Ochem II - 3.6
Ochem lab - 3.7
- work as a scribe at a hospital in an underprivileged area
- work as a medical assistant at a GI office
- got more physician shadowing hours: PM&R and GI
- continued assisted living home volunteering
- continued free health clinic
- Developed good relationship with Ochem prof who offered to write me a LOR
- Director (who is a doc) at free clinic likes me and i think i'll be able to get LOR from him after some more time

starting biochem and upper level bio course in the fall and I plan on continuing with all the above activities.

*******Please critique, give me feed back, opinions etc!! ie i haven't done research since undergrad where i only did research my senior yr and it didnt result in publications or presentations- concerning?, will biochem and 1 other class be enough of a work load to show med schools i can handle the rigor? (I am also working ~30 hours weekly)

THANK YOU. apologize for length of post.

Members don't see this ad.

What's your GPA altogether? That and MCAT will determine your ability, or lack thereof to gain an acceptance into an American med school.

On the other hand, EC's look really good and I would not worry about research for now. Save that for when you're in my position and trying to do surgery as a DO hehe.