Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

doctors and bad handwriting

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by IdoDrugs, Mar 26, 2007.

1. Hello. I figure this is the group of people closest to actual doctors here. I am a junior in undergrad (but will graduate as a fith year undergrad due to depression issues/changing majors). As a freshman and sophmore I worked (minimal...two days a week) in a pharmacy and now just do it during breaks.

Why do many doctors have bad handwriting?

It is very dangerous.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Jasoos

Jasoos Speculumating

Medical Student
    it would be a very good subject for investigation, that is all I can say

4. OncoCaP

Medical Student
    Here you go (let's use electronic prescriptions instead ;) ):

BMJ 1996;313:1657-1658 (21 December)
    Abstract

Objective: To determine whether doctors have worse handwriting than other health professionals.
    Design: Comparison of handwriting samples collected prospectively in a standardised 10 seconds' task.
    Setting: Courses on quality improvement.
    Subjects: 209 health care professionals attending the courses, including 82 doctors.
    Main outcome measures: Legibility rated on a four-point scale by four raters.
    Results: The handwriting of doctors was no less legible than that of non-doctors. Significantly lower legibility than average was associated with being an executive and being male. Overall legibility scores were normally distributed, with median legibility equivalent to a rating between "fair" and "good."