does anyone feel that their recall sucks as an older student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sthpawslugger

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I made it to medical school(thankfully) but am nowhere near as sharp as those who are 10 to 15 years younger than me, and so I'm just an average student, probably sitting somewhere near the middle of the pack. Anyone else here finding their recall of information isn't quite what it was when they were in their 20's? Or am I just getting early-onset dementia? lol.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
I made it to medical school(thankfully) but am nowhere near as sharp as those who are 10 to 15 years younger than me, and so I'm just an average student, probably sitting somewhere near the middle of the pack. Anyone else here finding their recall of information isn't quite what it was when they were in their 20's? Or am I just getting early-onset dementia? lol.

Not for me, just the opposite really. I've aced literally every class for the past 3 years (> 100% as a final course grade). I did end up with a median MCAT (509) but to be fair, the mcat isn't as much about recall (not to mention I supported 3 households while studying and taking care of my mom and had effectively 3 weeks worth of actual study time). I am consistently the top scorer on every test in classes of 200+, and I attribute that to the fact that my recall is so good (because by being at a big university, most of the test questions are not critical reasoning questions, but rather rote recall).