Does having a good job help you get into medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thestrugglingturtle

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I work as a Pharma consultant. I was lucky to get this job after an SMP. I earn 6 figures, and get to travel a lot (business travel is always a lot of fun, and we only stay at 4 or 5 star hotels).

Will this help me get into medical school, because it will show my interest? I am 27. Should I mention my salary and travel? (I will be discreet and allude to it). I will earn more in my current job (when you factor in the cost of medical school and years of no or low income). This will show that I don't want to go into medicine b/c of money, right?

Will it make up for a low GPA and SMP GPA of 3.1? I want to do another SMP. I want to be an research physician. I work with them a lot on clinical trials, and that is my dream.

Thank you all so much!

Members don't see this ad.

No, you shouldn’t list your salary and travel. This will make you come off as a conceited do****.

No, your jobs will be considered separately from academic performance unless you were in some sort of SES situation that necessitated you working DURING earning that 3.1.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I wont make up for low stats. It will however, allow you to apply to as many schools as your heart and bank account desire.

Reactions: 9 users
Well it definitely should help significantly. If it doesn't then this system is even more flawed than I initially believed.

Should I mention my salary and travel? (I will be discreet and allude to it).

Good heavens, no. Not only are those things irrelevant, but it might make an adcom wonder if you're really willing to give all this up for many years of no/low income during med/residency years.

Reactions: 1 user