does this just sound like an excuse?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justapremed

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I recently got my permanent residency, ~4 months back.

But b/c up until 4 months ago I was an international student (and not on a student visa) I couldn't get a job (not even a TA: though the chem dept approved me, I had to say no), couldn't apply for summer programs, internships, scholarships, etc that required at least permanent residency.

Now of course, yes, I could volunteer at the hospital, volunteer to tutor, etc... but I wish there's more I could have done than just "volunteer." In that sense I feel like my activities section of the application "lacks" a tad bit.

Do you think this could be something I could legitimately mention in my secondaries or in an interview or something? I personally feel like this is something I could mention (but then again, biased I'm sure :rolleyes:) but I feel like it's also easy to get passed as someone making up excuses or something.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Being restricted by the government sounds like a legitimate excuse to me. At least it's not like some people who try to say "I took 16 whole credit hours! I couldn't possibly have done anything else!"

Members don't see this ad :)
The international students at my undergrad had no problem getting research jobs for the summer on campus. I think they had a lot of trouble working for outside companies but the school was able to employ them. I suppose that may depend on how much effort the school is willing to make and what your exact status is...maybe a student visa would have be better...I don't know, not an international student.