Don't know what to do...need some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The Broccoli Industry

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm currently a freshman undergraduate pre-med. There's this research lab that I really want to get into but the professor hasn't responded to my email (it's been a week, likely ignored). Should I approach him after one of the classes he teaches to express my interest in his research or will that be perceived as annoying?

***Btw, I've received a few other research position offerings but I'm extremely interested in what this professor is working on and working in his lab would be by far my top choice.

Members don't see this ad.

Do you have the class with him? Don't just stalk his class and go up to him. Also a week is a perfectly appropriate amount of time to not have responded. If another goes by, reply to your first email and send it to him saying something like "Just following up to express my continued interest in volunteering with your lab". Don't be afraid of being annoying, within reason.

Do you have the class with him? Don't just stalk his class and go up to him. Also a week is a perfectly appropriate amount of time to not have responded. If another goes by, reply to your first email and send it to him saying something like "Just following up to express my continued interest in volunteering with your lab". Don't be afraid of being annoying, within reason.
No I don't have class with him and I feel as though he's seen the email but just likely ignored it.

Members don't see this ad :)
I agree with femmegoblue. Reply to your email in a few days and express continued interest.