Don't want to do the TMDAS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

moxche

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN, I'm in a bit of a complex situation and I would appreciate your input:

I'm a Texas resident but go to school very far away from the lone star state. I kinda like it here now, and want to stay in this part of the country. Would it be a really dumb/bad idea to not apply to any of my home state's public schools?

I know that I will have a better chance of getting in at a school in Texas (the 90% rule) and that tuition will be cheaper than at the other schools I'm considering; however, right now I feel that if I get accepted anywhere else, I will choose it over any of the Texas schools. Keeping that last fact in mind, is it justifiable for me to spend the time filling out the TMDAS, a $85+ application fee, and flight tickets just so I can have a "surer" spot at med school?

If it helps, these are some of my stats right now: ~3.70 sGPA , ~3.8 cGPA, 38 MCAT, ~1 year of research. The most troubling part of my application right now is probably a lack of "leadership" (I've never been an officer in any club).

Thanks for any advice/help/opinions/concerns.

Members don't see this ad.

since you're a texas resident, you'd only be cheating yourself if you didn't do the texas app. you might as well do it.

I think it would be foolish not to, but it is your life and your decision. I'd rather take the tremendous cost savings of going to school in Texas and do a residency wherever I like than go up to my eyeballs in debt and ultimately still do a residency wherever I like.

4 years of school can save you a ton of money down the line. It's not like Texas has bad schools, especially with your competitive numbers.

Members don't see this ad :)