DPM/JD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Masttt91

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a pod student and I really do feel like its a good fit, so absolutely no cold feet here. But at the same time I've always had a secret love for law. I've had some experience with law :whistle:and every time my law-school cousins talk to me about cases they're studying it really nudges at me. So hypothetically speaking, lets say after residency I get into an accelerated JD program full-ride (a girl can dream), can you guys think of any opportunities/benefits of being a DPM and a JD..other than free legal advice :D

Members don't see this ad.

I don't see the benefit to you the practicing surgeon/podiatrist. You could potentially create opportunities for yourself as a lawyer, but I personally believe they would be limited and there would be a long and hard road that would likely result in no benefit or a benefit no where close to the effort you put into it.

People do create interesting opportunities for themselves by combining law with other professions - ie. engineer + lawyer (potentially patent law), CPA + lawyer (tax attorney - I claim no expertise on this subject), medicine + law (perhaps for suing or defending other doctors or crafting health law - I don't know). Seems to me though that each of the above things I've listed requires you practicing as a lawyer. You'll need a law degree - there's an incredible hierarchy in law. I don't really even want to write anymore because there's just a long road of ifs that I can't even begin to claim experience with- if you go to the right law school, if you graduate, if you pass the bar, if you get an opportunity at a firm that allows you to develop into something interesting or different.