Dress code

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RJ92

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm a medical student aspiring to be a psychiatrist. It is the reason I got into medical school, in fact, so it is very important to me that I get there.
However, I can be a little eccentric at times, and that includes my clothing. It was brought to my attention by a relative that I may scare patients and referrals away if I continue dressing the way I dress, even though I don't think I dress that outrageously and my country is extremely traditional. I'm just a little out there.

Things I wear regularly:
- Non-matching patterns and colors
- Faux animal print jackets
- Doc Martens, especially purple ones
- Skirts and dresses with colorful, or stripy leggings underneath
- Lots of vintage and second-hand things

I'm also currently sporting a bob cut that has been compared to the one from the movie Amelie. Baby bangs and all.

I never wear things that are too revealing. Just "eccentric".

Would this really damage my reputation or make people misjudge my capacity, or would people just expect it because of stereotypes of the field?
How much is too much?

It may seem minor and superficial, but clothing is a major expressive outlet for me.
The office isn’t a place for people to be expressive. It’s a place for us to take care of people. Save the really out of norm stuff for after work hours

I would be unlikely to continue seeing a doc in purple doc martins, rainbow yoga pants and a fake cheetah sweater. I’m older though, maybe some folks would love it.

Reactions: 17 users
The office isn’t a place for people to be expressive. It’s a place for us to take care of people. Save the really out of norm stuff for after work hours