Nov 7, 2010
Status
Hi, I've been lurking for awhile and have searched the forum for an answer to this question but didn't find anything, so here goes:

I'm currently a junior (undergrad) and am planning on vet school. I am a US/UK dual citizen, and I really don't want to add more debt to what I'll already have from undergrad. So, I'd love to go to Edinburgh (= free!!) but I'll need to establish residence somewhere in Europe for at least three years between graduation from undergrad and matriculation to vet school..... This will make me older than I'd like to be when starting vet school (I understand there are a lot of non-trads here), so I'm really hoping that if I do get accepted to Edinburgh, I'll get into the GEP.

So I guess my main question is, when they say on their website "We offer an accelerated programme for graduates with a relevant degree in biological or animal science," what constitutes "relevant"?? I'm majoring in Ecology & Evolutionary Biology at a Top 20 Nat'l Uni (as ranked by US N&WR). I'll have taken Calc, Gen Chem, Orgo, Physics, Bio, Ecology, Evolution, Genetics, Conservation Bio, Animal Behavior, a bunch of bio labs, and some other sciencey courses I've yet to decide on. I will NOT have taken Animal Anatomy/Physiology, Embryology, Immuno, Biochem, etc.

And does anyone know how late after graduating will they consider someone for the GEP? I may not want to go ahead with this plan of roaming around Europe for three years only to find out that they'll consider me to be too rusty and place me into the 5 year program. Then again, I still might because free is free, but I'd like to know ahead of time what is most likely.