Ehical Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chevalier

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a general physician working at a psych only hospital. 15 inpatient unit, we also attend emergencies.
I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder some years ago.

Is it ok to disclose my diagnosis with patients that might feel better off knowing that I know what they're going though? I'm 24 and I have a 20 year old patient with the same diagnosis and I believe that sharing my experience might create better rapport between us. I honestly don't care if others are aware of my Dx, I think of mental illness just like any other disease (DM, hypertension, renal disease etc etc).

I'm unsure if it will be a positive thing to do, if it will hamper our therapeutical relationship or if it'll have a neutral efect. Also if it would lower my "prestige" or will colleagues and patiens see me as inferior or unfit for my job if people start finding out. My ultimate goal is to apply to a psych residency in the US (I'm an American IMG that hasn't done any USMLE step, working on it)

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
As a rule. Others might say there's a time and a place, and I don't say this because of prestige, or paternalism, or image.

You just get into really weird territory with transference, countertransference, projection, all sorts of things.

I don't even like to talk to patients about having a significant other and details like if we are married, live together, etc. If we were married I might feel less weird.

You don't want the patient to make it about you. You don't want you to make it about you.

Usually if anything beyond my marital status, where I am from, if I have siblings, parents, where I went to school, what part of town I live in, the weather, traffic, or healthy eating habits comes up, I don't do self-disclosure.

Reactions: 5 users