Elective science classes: how much is "enough"?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by da8s0859q, Jun 20, 2008.

1. I'm not talking about the usual stuff here, like gen chem 1/2, bio 1/2, organic 1/2, physics 1/2, calculus, and the rest of the required stuff. I've done all that. I'm talking about the electives: the "XX hours of biology coursework" sort of thing.

(For context, I am applying to six MD programs in Texas as a resident.)

Things I have not taken: microbiology, cell biology, histology, immunology, genetics, a few others.

Things I HAVE taken: A&P 1 + lab, A&P 2 + lab, pathophysiology, a nutrition course, medical terminology, neurobiology, biochemistry.

Would you still consider this "sorely lacking" considering the fact that I have a psych degree instead of chem/bio/whatnot? I'm considering nailing a few other things out as a postbacc, so maybe their inclusion as "future coursework" on my TMDSAS would be beneficial; I'm just not sure if I'll actually be able to take them.

What say you?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. schismal

Medical Student
    I would suspect microbiology and cell biology to be the most useful off that list. However, since you've already taken biochem, you would probably find much of the material in cell to be a review. If that's the case, substitute cell for genetics.

At least in my school, immunology is the GPA killer of the elective biologies. So I saved that one until after my AMCAS went out. ;)

4. neuro1617

Pre-Medical
    Same at my school....

5. cdmccart

Pre-Medical