This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theblueswede

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a medical student strongly considering EM and am REALLY hoping to eventually practice in Salt Lake City, Utah. I'm worried about the job market, however. It seems that many other states have numerous job listings, but Utah has very few. I realize that most jobs are likely not found via simple listings, but I would appreciate the perspective of attendings/residents in the area. Also, doximity lists the average salary at 320k—does this seem about right?

Members don't see this ad.

One of the new attendings I had in residency moved there and got a job without much problem. Though he went to one of the best EM residencies and also worked for one of the best known chairs in EM, so that was certainly in his favor.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Do a rotation at Utah's EM program. Impress the people at Utah's EM program. Get a residency at Utah's EM program. Do an awesome job at Utah's EM program. Get them to help you get a job in Utah (or work for Utah's EM program).

Reactions: 1 users
Tough market, right up there with Portland and Denver. I should add that the EM market anywhere five years from now will be totally different from the EM job market today- look at Houston and Denver. EM does have the advantage that you can live in one place and work in another without much difficulty.