Employed as a software engineer but want to become a doctor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

munusen2008

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am 38 years old. I have had a career in programming for 17 years, however, I feel that I have reached a peak and now my job is either
a) boring and challenging at the same time
b) does not have mentors I need to rise up
c) intellectually, I just can't get any better at it

My job pays well, but I do not feel I am doing my best work. I have always wanted to go into a different field, and going into medical field has been an idea in my mind for a while. I have a CS degree from 2003, and I took some prereqs like Chem, Organic Chem from Hunter College in NY a few years ago, thinking I would quit work and take my MCATs and apply to school.

Then, my life took a bit of a turn and I had two kids (3 and 5), a husband (who works but isn't the primary provider), and some savings. I need to pay mortgage and taxes for a big house at 6K a month. And I have a new job for the last two years - rated as doing average work.

All paths seem bleak and wondering if any body has been in my position before and could give me advice:

1. Stay in my job, keep earning money, find ways to fullfill myself outside of work
2. Quit my job and still have enough money to continue living as I do, take loans, go back to school, become a doctor

Am I falling into "grass is greener on the other side" mentality?

I will be close to 50 when I finish schooling, will that give me enough time in my life to enjoy my children, husband, life?

Members don't see this ad.

I am 38 years old. I have had a career in programming for 17 years, however, I feel that I have reached a peak and now my job is either