ended associateship and not getting paid collections that haven't come in

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

deeUGA

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
What is the normal way to handle payments after you stop working at office that paid you on collections once a month? My boss told me he is only going to pay me on collections till the last day I worked. There is close to 40k in collections that have not come in yet on work that I have done. Also, how do offices usually handle lab fees that you paid on cases that you will not deliver?

Background:
I graduated a year ago and had been working at a medicaid heavy practice for the last year. The owner had always been a little shady. He would take quite a while to respond to emails or calls about financial things and would skirt issues that I would bring up to him. I know I should have left immediately instead of staying on for almost a year, but being knee deep in loans [and pretty naive out of school], it is difficult to be jobless for any length of time. When I started, he was paying 25% collections and did not offer a daily minimum because he claimed he did not give it to any of his associates (I later found out all the other associates did have daily minimums). My original contract (and the only one I ever signed) was for 25% collections. A few months later, I asked for an increase, as I was by then the highest producing doctor and I was also working 36 hours a week (with no benefits). He agreed to increasing it to 30% collections, and a $450 minimum. We did not sign a new contract for this, but he did start paying me the 30% as agreed. By this point, I was producing/collecting beyond what the daily minimum would have been so it did not apply (but was calculated on the pay stubs anyway for comparison). After months of finding small mistakes in my pay stubs and having to wait weeks for the owners responses/corrections, I gave my required 60 day notice t