Engineering grad considering going to med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

engineerfirst

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a female URM and currently a master's student and graduate research assistant studying biomedical engineering, graduating in a week! Prior to that I got a bachelor's in electrical engineering and graduated with a 2.9 GPA. After lots of consideration, and working in a highly clinical research setting I've decided I would like to pursue an MD.

Some more background: I actually started off college in a biology major and after a lot of struggling and failing courses, I switched into engineering. I took gen bio 1+2 as well as gen chem 1+2 and got C's in pretty much all of them. However, I did very well once I switched into engineering. I made the dean's list several times, was appointed a TA for doing well in my classes, and eventually got accepted in a PhD program for biomedical engineering. However, I quickly realized that research at the level was not for me and I wanted to do more to help people than research basic science questions so I switched to a master's program and will be graduating soon. My best friends dad works at a medical school and has helped me find some MD's to shadow and volunteer with.

My question: I have a low undergrad gpa but my graduate gpa is about a 3.5, not great but an improvement. Given that I'm missing some requirements for med school and my ugpa is so bad, I'm think of doing a postbacc. I'm a very good test taker and anticipate doing well on the MCAT after lot's of studying and a prep course. Is there anything else I need to do to make myself competitive for med school or is it a lost cause?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

All is not lost.

Depending on what your uGPAs are, there are two options to re-mediate: