Experience vs. GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emcarr26

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from DePaul January 2009 with a Bachelor of Arts majoring in Psychology--Human Development. My graduating GPA was 3.0. I have also been a Certified Personal Trainer since 2007 and gravitated towards a sub-specialty of resistance training emphasizing safety, injury prevention and spinal core rehabilitation using slow tempo movements completed to muscular exhaustion. The machines used to conduct the slow protocol sessions are chiropractic grade medical machines known as MedX. In 2010 I opened a private personal training studio dedicated to this sub specialty and am the founder and director of PGSP (Private Gym Slow Protocol). Although my GPA is on the low side, I am determined to take the next step in my career by going back to school for DPT. I am starting class 8/22 to complete the missing science prerequisites (2 full time semesters worth) and plan on applying next summer/fall for 2013 admissions. Be honest, will my low GPA deter school from admitting me? Will the 2 yr gap between under grad and grad prove to be a problem?

Members don't see this ad.