Extracurricular advice for pre-med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

talyn86

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone. I'm currently a freshman at the University of Pittsburgh. So far, my classes are going well, but I'm still trying to figure out my plan for extracurricular activities.
Here are all the activities I plan to have by the end of my college career:
1. UPMC Volunteer (3 years)
2. Music Therapy Hospice Volunteer (4 years)
3. Shadowing (at least 3 specialties)
4. American Medical Student Association Mentor (member for 4 years)
5. Tutoring or possibly TA
6. Annual Mission Trips (4 since 2014, and I intend to do more)
7. Church Worship Band (8 years)
8. Research/Publication/Presentation (at least 2 years)
9. Study Abroad
10. Summer job as a file clerk at a health equipment firm (4 years)

This semester, I am only doing #2, #4 (member only), #7, and possibly #3. Should I look for another non-clinical service activity to get involved with? I had been doing weekly work days with Habitat for Humanity, but I'm looking to replace it with something I'm more passionate about. I want to show continuity, but I'm not sure how many activities I can handle at a time. Does it look bad to only participate in certain activities for 1 or 2 years at a time? Other than that, how does this 4-year plan look overall?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think that you should choose activities that you genuinely enjoy AND you can make LONG TERM (1-3 Years) commitments to.

Which activity would look better?

1.) Getting into a research lab in January and staying there for 6 months. Over the course of that time your name ends up on a publication in PNAS for your contribution imaging cells and formatting.

2.) You start working as an EMT or a Tutor in your freshman year and continue for four years. By the end you may make some sort of leadership position.