psp251

5+ Year Member
May 30, 2011
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi,

I've pushed back applying to med school for years now, without realizing that my MCAT score would be expiring this summer. I currently work full time and don't think I can invest the time to study and retake the test, so I'll be trying to apply late this cycle. I've worked on my primary in past years, so I have a good foundation.

If I submit my primary by early next week, I was wondering if I would still have a chance. (Unfortunately, I'm an Asian California resident so I know it'll be even more difficult for me.) If anyone has any advice whatsoever on my situation and what my best plan of attack is (schools to apply to, timeline, etc.), it would be greatly appreciated. I'm panicking just typing this out. My information is below if that's important as well. Thank you!

Stats:
cGPA: 3.95
sGPA: 3.9
MCAT: 36 (12/12/12)

EC's:
Summa cum laude, Dean's honor list, etc.
Research: 3-5 hours a week for 3 semesters + 1 summer (17 months total)
-Resulted in secondary authorship in 2 publications (though not a high-impact journal)
300 hours of clinical volunteering
Counselor at 1-week camp relating to the aforementioned clinical volunteering for 3 summers
Member in club relating to clinical volunteering - 2 years
Mentoring/tutoring at elementary school for 3 years
Currently work at public health tech company - have been there 1.5 years
Do not have any shadowing, unfortunately

May 4, 2015
Status
Medical Student
Go ahead. You've waited long enough. Criteria for applying early does not necessarily apply to candidates like you. I am sure you will do fine.
Are you averse to applying to DO programs? Cause it might be a good investment since your MCAT is expiring (so why not?).

solitarius

7+ Year Member
May 20, 2010
Status
Medical Student
Good app, but you really dropped the ball on this one.

You should get some interviews, but that depends on where you apply and if your essays are decent (not rushed).