Failed my part 2 retake. Scared and seeking advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anderson86

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
A friend sent me to this site to seek some advice so I thought I would give it a try. Apologies for the long post.

I just found out I failed my boards part 2 retake. I can honestly say that I studied like crazy and gave it my best effort both times. According to other students I have been using the proper resources... So I'm not really sure what happened the past few months.

I will graduate with a good GPA. My interviews and externships both went great and because of that I am in excellent standing with a few residency programs.

I have never failed a class or even a test in my entire academic career until now so I'm still in a state of shock and not sure what to do about being 200k+ in debt with no future. Any guidance you can offer to a terrified student about the future and my options would be much appreciated even if it's bad news I need to hear it... Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm sorry to hear that. It sounds like a scary situation. I'm still a prepod. Can I ask what school you went to?

Last edited:
Sorry to hear about the situation. It's going to be tough, I am sure. This means you won't participate in the match, obviously, but there is still the test offering in May. Passing it then may keep you from having to sit out a year. From the sounds of it, next year is going to be worse than this year as far as ratio of residency spots to applicants. If you do have to sit out a year, I would keep in touch with the programs that you feel like you had good standing with, and maybe they would take you next year. Still, better to pass in May and not have to sit out a year.