Other OT-Related Information Family problems lead to a rocky semester. Will I be able to defend myself?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Reddington

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, there!

I was hoping to get some advice on the admission process. This semester, a close family member of mine suffered through some severe illness, and it was quite a stressful time for me, having to juggle between looking after my family and trying to study for my classes. It was to the point that it severely hampered my ability to perform in one of my classes, and long story short, I failed it. Granted, it could've been worse - I managed to take the class P/NP so it didn't affect my GPA, but it aggravates me to see such a black mark on my permanent record.

Being a Californian resident, I was wondering, during the admission process, I will be allowed to explain the reason for the mark? I realize I'm making excuses at this point, but I hope that others could understand that it was a really tough time for me and not because I'm an awful, lazy student or anything. If I could do it all over again, honestly, I'd fail the class again if it meant being there with my family. But for an outside observer, I'd imagine it may not look this way, so I was hoping to get some answers.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm sorry about your circumstances, but it sounds like you have your priorities straight. I applied and was accepted into Samuel Merritt this year. I told them in my interview about how I had failed my physics final (and thus the class) but I was allowed to re-take the exam, and I passed it the second time. I told them how I felt about the whole thing, why I thought I failed, and the changes I made in order to pass. The feedback I got back about that story was that I had shown a lot of personal insight, and I was a better candidate for having shared it with them.