Fear

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shauna

I mean sauna
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an upper sophomore undergrad majoring in psych and preparing for med school. Not sure where this fits in but I have been experiencing fears about med school lately, two in particular: not being able to handle the sleep deprivation, and fear of math & orgo. My history has been that I underestimate myself; I've had a fear of taking a class then did well in it. I hope history repeats itself in that vein, but, my fears are so overwhelming that I am considering switching to psych grad, even though I love medicine. Are my fears normal for a pre-med? Are they an evolutionary advantageous system designed to smoke out red herrings and cut my losses early? Or is my amygdala clearly in overdrive?

Members don't see this ad.

If you really love medicine, then I'd say still go for it. I'm having similar issues I guess, as I am set to take orgo this semester. Every single time I tell someone I'm pre-med I always add a disclaimer like, "For now..." I go to a small school, and my advisor is like a second dad to me. I think I probably get on his nerves because I'm always saying things like "if I get in..." He's told me he'd be shocked if I didn't get accepted. I believe him, but at the same time, I don't want to get my hopes up too much. You said you have a fear of taking certain classes, and then end up doing fine in them. This sounds all too familiar. And if you're doing fine in them, then I'd say you probably have the determination and intelligence to make it. I think for me, to some extent, it's that I want to have some level of humility about things. I guess it helps me to appreciate the opportunities that I am afforded in life.