Medical Fearful of the MCAT - How do I get started?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
A little background:

I am a non-traditional student. I graduated with my bachelors in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology last year at the age of 25. I started out doing CS, I was not very good at it.
I had the opportunity to transfer colleges (within the same state college system), which had a much better CS program, but I couldn't get into the program, so I was an undeclared major for my first year there. After this first year I had to take an academic school year off to take care of my mother who had been recently diagnosed with terminal cancer.

After her passing the following year, I re-entered academia and established myself as a Biology Major, after my second semester, I transferred my major again into Biochemistry & Molecular Biology until I graduated. In between summers I focused on my lab internship (same place for 3 summers), and was awarded with 2 publications. I participated in research on campus and also TA'd for basic lab courses, as well as running a Biology related activities club being the VP.

I since re-entering academia I never got below a 3.8 GPA, I was able to raise my GPA from a 3.21 to a 3.77.

Now that I have graduated college for 1 year, I still have not come to terms with facing with studying and taking the MCAT.
I have all the books, tons of materials, pdfs, videos, websites, etc. But I just can't face myself to study. I'm particularly scared since my background is quite weak compared to my friends and peers, who are mostly 3-4 years younger than me, they all took AP classes in highschool, which I did not, in fact I was a terrible student almost borderline drop out.