Feeling overwhelmed as a non-traditional gap year student, WAMC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Profreshional

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from college in the Spring of 2019 with the plan to take a gap year and gain work experience before enduring more school. I was initially Pre-Optometry after shadowing a family friend who seemed to love his career choice and has done really well for himself. I applied for a job as an Optometric Tech and landed the job so things were seeming well on their way. At a routine dental visit, I noticed the high energy and passion my dentist and her staff had in the office. I asked to shadow her a few days and began to have doubts about going into Optometry. This all took place in the summer of 2019.

Fast forward to now, I left my job as an Optometric Tech at the start of COVID-19 in hopes to gain more dental shadowing experience to determine which field I should fully commit to. It has been difficult gaining shadow hours due to the pandemic, but that left me with time to do some research on both fields and start reviewing for the admissions test whether it be the OAT or DAT as they are pretty similar. Working full time as a Tech granted me little to no study time so I never picked a date and wound up finding myself in another year off.

My stats from undergrad were as follows:
oGPA - 3.69, sGPA - 3.5
Research - 100 hours under a Professor
Volunteer Hours - 120+ as VP of a non-profit
Opt Shadowing - 200+
Dental Shadowing - ~40 (still shadowing)
Work experience on campus
DAT - not taken